The National Assembly of Seychelles

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size
Home Committees Media Committee

Media Committee

E-mail Print PDF

Roles and Responsibilities

The Media Committee is one of the seven Standing Committees of the National Assembly. It was created in March 2012 pursuant to order 84 of the Standing Orders through a motion tabled by Hon. Charles De Commarmond.

The purpose of the Media Committee as set by its Terms of Reference (TOR) is to ensure fair, proper, dignified and unbiased coverage of proceedings of the National Assembly. The Committee exercises its functions through different instruments:

  • Committee Meetings: on every third Monday of the month, the Media Committee convenes its ordinary meeting to follow-up issues and takes matters arising. Special meetings are held as and when required.
  • Meeting with Media Houses: representatives of national media houses are invited to the Committee at least once a year.
  • Visits: the Committee occasionally conducts visits to the different media houses.
  • Training workshop: the Committee proposes and assists with training for Members of the National Assembly and journalist in parliamentary reporting and broadcasting.


During the first year of its mandate, the Media Committee was chaired by Hon. Marie-Antoinette Rose, the Leader of Government Business, who resigned from the post in mid-February 2013. Two months later, the Committee got a new Chairperson, Hon. Andre Pool, the Deputy Speaker, who is assisted by Hon. David Pierre, the Leader of the Opposition, as the Vice-Chairperson. Other Members of the Committee are; Hon. Nichole Barbe, Hon. Galen Bresson, Hon. Chantal Ghislain, Hon. Maria Payet-Marie and Hon. Sylvianne Valmont.

Important Documents for the Media


The following Secretariat staff assist the Committee in its work:

  • Ms. Haajira Jumaye - Secretary
  • Mrs. Deborah Segoh - Secretary Assistant
Last Updated on Monday, 23 February 2015 14:08